Physical context

Geology

Central Africa is formed mainly of an enormous bloc of Precambrian rocks that crop out in an arc around a central sedimentary basin, separating it from the sedimentary Chad Basin to the north and the coastal sedimentary basin to the west.

Geological formations of Central Africa
Soil Atlas of Africa

The Soil Atlas of Africa was published on 29 April 2013. The Atlas explains the origin and functions of the soils, describes the different types of soil and the usefulness for addressing local and global problems. It describes the main threats to the soils and the measure taken to protect Africa's soil resources.

The Soil Atlas of Africa is the result of collaboration between the European Union, the African Union, and the United Nations FAO, to support and encourage sustainable use of soil resources in Africa, and the Global Soil Partnership for Food Security.

To find the Atlas and download the data:
http://esdac.jrc.ec.europa.eu/content/soil-map-soil-atlas-africa

Hydrography

Central Africa is part of five major river basins or groups of river basins.

River Length (km) Basin area(km2) Flow rate (m3/sec)
1 Congo 4374 3600000 41000
2 Nile 6670 3349000 5100
3 Chad (Chari) 949
4 Niger (Bénoué) 1400 870
The coastal rivers of the Gulf of Guinea
5 Cross 75000 569
6 Wouri 11700 308
7 Sanaga 1043 133000 2060
8 Nyong 27800 443
9 Ntem 31000 348
10 Wele
11 Muni
12 Komo
13 Ogooué 1200 205000 4400
14 Nyanga 25000 450
15 Kouilou-Niari 60000 700

Source: WRI-OFAC

The Congo River Basin, where annual renewable water resources amount to about 1.3 billion m3 is the biggest of these basins and the biggest in Africa. It accounts for close to 30% of Africa's water resources and covers 4 million km2. The Congo River has an average annual flow rate of 41,000 m3/sec (Nkounkou and Probst, 2017). The basin covers parts of ten countries but 85.3% of the Congo River Basin is located in largely forested areas of four countries : Cameroon, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo and Republic of Congo. The Congo basin's stream network is very dense and consists of a complex network of rivers, vast freshwater swamp forests, and lakes.

GIS Data     Geoportal

For more information on the stream network, particularly its relationship to the forest and to ecosystem goods and services, see Chapter 9 of the State of the Forests 2008.

Rainfall

Annual average rainfall in Central Africa is highest in the area closest to the Gulf of Guinea: 3000 mm in Libreville, 3200 mm in Bata, 3400 in Douala, 6000 mm in the southern part of Bioko Island and close to 12,000 mm in Debunscha in the southwestern foothills of Mount Cameroon. Towards the south, precipitation declines rapidly: at the mouth of the Congo River, it is less than 1000 mm.

Further from the coast, the Congo basin's rainforests receive between 1700 and 2000 mm of rain. The areas with the highest rainfall are located close to the equator on the Chaillu mountains and on the centre and eastern edge of the central basin. Further from the equator, rainfall drops to under 1000 mm in the north of Cameroon near Lake Chad, the northeast of the Central African Republic and in certain parts of southeast DRC. The Albertine Rift valley also has some very arid areas near lakes Albert and Edward and in Tanganyika.

Topography

The forests of Central Africa mainly cover the vast alluvial plain of the Congo, lying at an altitude of between 300 and 600 m and surrounded by generally tabular plateaux with altitudes between 600 and 1000 m. To the north and south, these plateaux (which separate the Congo basin from the Chad and Zambesi basins) cover areas that are almost completely outside the rainforest zone.

To the east, forests cover the plateaux that form the foothills of the mountain range along the Albertine rift. This range is close to 1000 km long from north to south, peaking at 5100 m in the Ruwenzori range and 4500 m in the Virunga Mountains.

To the west, the Congolese plain is separated from the alluvial coastal plain which extends over 150 km where it reaches Gabon, by a series of plateaux and mountain ranges barely over 1000 m high that separate the waters of the Congo from those of the numerous coastal rivers.

GIS Data     Geoportal

In Cameroon, these plateaux spread over a large part of the country, punctuated to the northwest and the north by high volcanoes forming an arc from Bioko Island and Mount Cameroon to the Bamenda and Adamawa plateaux and even the Yade plateau in Central African Republic.

About 65% of Central Africa's tropical rainforests are located at altitudes of 300-600 m, 30% at altitudes between 600 and 1650 m and 5% between 0 and 300 m. Only 1% of these forests are composed of montane forests at altitudes over 1650 m.

Contexte physique

Géologie

L'Afrique centrale est formée essentiellement d'un vaste bloc de roches précambriennes qui affleure en arc de cercle autour d'une cuvette centrale sédimentaire séparant celle-ci des formations sédimentaires du bassin du Tchad au nord et du bassin sédimentaire côtier à l'ouest.

Formations pédologiques d’Afrique Centrale
L’Atlas des sols d’Afrique

Le 29 avril 2013, l’Atlas de Sols d’Afrique fut publié. L’Atlas explique l’origine et les fonctions des sols, décrit les différents types de sols et leur utilité pour répondre aux problèmes tant locaux que mondiaux. Il traite aussi des principales menaces qui pèsent sur les sols et des mesures prises pour protéger les ressources du sol.

L’Atlas des sols est une initiative lancée en collaboration par l’Union européenne, l’Union africaine et l’Organisation des Nations unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture en vue de soutenir et d'encourager l’utilisation durable des ressources du sol en Afrique et le Partenariat mondial sur les sols pour la sécurité alimentaire.

Pour découvrir l’Atlas et télécharger les données:
http://esdac.jrc.ec.europa.eu/content/soil-map-soil-atlas-africa

Hydrographie

L’Afrique centrale appartient à cinq grands bassins ou ensembles de bassins fluviaux

Fleuve Longueur (km) Bassin (km2) débit (m3/sec)
1 Congo 4374 3600000 41000
2 Nil 6670 3349000 5100
3 Tchad (Chari) 949
4 Niger (Bénoué) 1400 870
Fleuves côtiers du Golfe de Guinée
5 Cross 75000 569
6 Wouri 11700 308
7 Sanaga 1043 133000 2060
8 Nyong 27800 443
9 Ntem 31000 348
10 Wele
11 Muni
12 Komo
13 Ogooué 1200 205000 4400
14 Nyanga 25000 450
15 Kouilou-Niari 60000 700

Source: WRI-OFAC

Le bassin fluvial du Congo, qui comporte des ressources en eau renouvelables annuelles d’environ 1,3 milliard de mètres cubes, est le plus grand de ces bassins et constitue environ 30% des ressources en eau de l’Afrique. C’est le plus grand bassin d’Afrique avec une superficie d’environ 4 millions de km2. Le fleuve Congo à un débit moyen annuel de 41.000 m3/s (Nkounkou et Probst, 2017). Il s’étend sur 10 pays différents, mais 85,3% du bassin fluvial du Congo se situe dans les régions, en grande partie boisées, de quatre pays : Cameroun, République Centrafricaine, République Démocratique du Congo et République du Congo. Le réseau hydrographique du bassin du Congo est très dense et comprend un réseau complexe de rivières, de vastes forêts inondées et de lacs.

Données SIG    Géoportail

Pour plus d’informations sur le réseau hydrographique, notamment sur les relations à la forêt et les biens et services écosystémiques, rendez-vous au chapitre 9 de l’Etat des Forêts 2008

Pluviométrie

Les précipitations annuelles moyennes en Afrique centrale sont maximales en bordure immédiate du golfe de Guinée : 3000 mm à Libreville, 3200 mm à Bata, 3400 à Douala, 6000 mm dans la partie sud de l'île de Bioko et près de 12000 mm à Debunscha sur le piémont sud-ouest du mont Cameroun. Vers le sud la pluviométrie diminue cependant rapidement : à hauteur de l'embouchure du fleuve Congo, elle est inférieure à 1000 mm.

A distance de la côte, la majeure partie des forêts humides de la cuvette du Congo reçoit entre 1700 et 2000 mm de précipitations. Des zones de plus fortes précipitations sont centrées à hauteur de l'équateur sur le massif du Chaillu, le centre de la cuvette et le bord oriental de la cuvette. A distance de l'équateur la pluviométrie diminue pour tomber à moins de 1000 mm à proximité du lac Tchad dans le nord du Nord-Cameroun, dans le nord-est de la République centrafricaine et certaines zones du sud-est de la RDC. Dans le fossé du rift Albertin, existent également des zones fort arides à hauteur des lacs Albert, Edouard et Tanganyika.

Topographie

Les forêts d'Afrique centrale occupent essentiellement la vaste plaine alluviale du Congo qui s'étale entre 300 et 600 m d'altitude et est entourée de manière quasi continue par des plateaux au relief généralement tabulaire, dont l'altitude varie entre 600 et 1000 m. Au nord et au sud, ces plateaux, qui séparent le bassin du Congo de ceux du Tchad et du Zambèse, s'étendent presque totalement en dehors du domaine des forêts humides.

A l'est, les formations forestières remontent sur les plateaux qui forment le piémont de la chaîne montagneuse longeant rift Albertin. Cette chaîne s'étend sur près de 1000 km du nord au sud et culmine à 5100 m dans le Ruwenzori, 4500 m dans les volcans Virunga.

A l'ouest, la plaine congolaise est séparée de la plaine alluviale côtière, qui atteint 150 km à hauteur du Gabon, par une succession de plateaux et de chaînes au relief estompé dont l'altitude ne dépasse qu'à peine 1000 m et qui séparent les eaux du Congo de celles des nombreux fleuves côtiers.

Données SIG    Géoportail

Au Cameroun, ces plateaux s'étalent une grande partie du pays. Ils sont bordés au nord-ouest et au nord par de hauts reliefs volcaniques qui s'étendent en arc de cercle depuis l'île de Bioko et le mont Cameroun aux plateaux de Bamenda, à l'Adamaoua et même au plateau de Yade en République centrafricaine.

Environ 65% des forêts humides d'Afrique centrale sont donc situées entre 300 et 600 m d'altitude, 30 % entre 600 et 1650 m et 5% entre 0 et 300 m. Les forêts montagnardes, situées au-dessus de 1650 m ne couvrent pas 1% de l'ensemble.